Capricorn (♑︎) is the tenth astrological sign under Western astrology.

It comes after Sagittarius and before Aquarius.

The term “Capricorn” is derived from the constellation of Capricornus which roughly translates to “horned goat” in Latin. This is why the symbol of Capricorn is a sea-goat.

Sea goats are mythical creatures from Greek mythology that are half goat and half fish. Their upper body resembles a goat while the lower body resembles a fish.

The sea goat has appeared in many ancient civilizations including the Babylonian civilization in which it was used as a symbol of Enki, a god of knowledge, mischief, and water.

Capricorn is ruled by the planet of Saturn.

In Roman mythology, Saturn is the god of harvest, social order, and civilization.

Saturn is regularly associated alongside ethics, focus, nobility, royalty, leadership, authority, responsibility, and practicality. It is economical and focuses heavily on reality.

These are some of the traits we also find in Capricorn.

Capricorn under the tropical zodiac, which is the widely used chart, refers to people born between December 21st and the 19th of January. 

Capricorn is an earth sign, a negative sign, and a cardinal sign. If you don’t understand what these mean don’t worry we’ll explain them.

Earth Sign

  • All signs are divided amongst four elements. These are water, air, fire, and earth just like in Avatar: The Last Air Bender. Now if you’ve seen the show you’ll remember that each of the characters is a little or extremely related to the element they can control. Earth signs are extremely reliable and there are only three of them. Taurus, Capricorn, and Virgo. Earth signs are notorious for being very grounded and quite ironically down to earth. They are stable, practical, and easy-going. It takes quite a lot of effort to get them unstable or angry. If you value loyalty then Earth signs are the way to go. 

Negative Sign

  •  This term is a bit misleading. Negative in this context does not mean bad or lacking. Other terms would be “passive” or “receptive”. Some people even choose to refer to it as a “yin”. The “yin” is taken from yin yang of the Ancient Chinese philosophy that proposes the yin and yang as a concept of dualism. One cannot exist without the other.


Cardinal Sign

  1. Finally, we have Capricorn as a cardinal sign. There are only four cardinal signs. The signs can only be cardinal, fixed, or mutable. Capricorn, Aries, Libra, and Cancer are the four cardinal signs. The word “cardinal” roughly translates to “important”. This is because each of these signs signifies an important time in seasons. Capricorn is a cardinal sign because it signifies the beginner of the winter season in the northern hemisphere and the beginning of summer in the southern hemisphere. Cardinal signs are also called reacting signs.


Compatible Meter


The Personality of a Virgo, Explained Virgo is an earth sign historically represented by the goddess of wheat and agriculture, an association that speaks to Virgo's deep-rooted presence in the material world. Virgos are logical, practical, and systematic in their approach to life.
Compatible Meter


Taurus is an earth sign represented by the bull. Like their celestial spirit animal, Taureans enjoy relaxing in serene, bucolic environments, surrounded by soft sounds, soothing aromas, and succulent flavors. Taurus is ruled by Venus, the enchanting planet that governs love, beauty, and money.

Character Traits of Capricorn

Capricorns are exalted in Mars but they fall in Jupiter. Capricorns are in detriment in the Moon which is why they may struggle with their emotions.

Your moon sign determines how you react to emotions. If your rising sign (or Ascendant) is a Capricorn then you need to be careful of the extent you’re willing to go to achieve your goals and ambitions.

Now it’s time to discuss some of the character traits found in Capricorn. Capricorns are very ambitious as well as hardworking. They’re serious, determined, focused, and motivated. They do well in positions of power however they can struggle with pride. Because of their stoic-like nature they tend to struggle with communicating about their emotions. This is something they can work on as long as they make the conscious effort to.